October 12 – October 20, 2018

Shedley Theatre
Playford Civic Centre
Elizabeth, South Australia

Production Team

Director: Stephen Tulip
Musical Director: Bec Mason
Choreographer: Rose Vallen

Book by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty
Co-Conceived by Lynn Ahrens, Stephen Flaherty and Eric Idle

The story of Seussical is based on the stories of Horton Hears A Who and Horton Sits On An Egg, but it isn’t just a few stories set to music: it’s a full-length musical that weaves together more than 15 of Dr Seuss’ most beloved books and characters. The messages at the heart of the books are integrated throughout the story—the power of helping a friend, of not giving up, of keeping a promise, of valuing the dignity of others, and a pure belief in the power of imagination.

Narrated by The Cat in the Hat the story follows Horton, an elephant who discovers a speck of dust that contains the Whos, including Jojo, a Who child sent off to military school for thinking too many “thinks”. Horton faces a double challenge: not only must he protect the Whos from a world of naysayers and dangers, but he must guard an abandoned egg, left in his care by the irresponsible Mayzie La Bird. Although Horton faces ridicule, danger, kidnapping and a trial, the intrepid Gertrude McFuzz never loses faith in him. Ultimately, the powers of friendship, loyalty, family and community are challenged and emerge triumphant.

Seussical is a fun romp for the whole family with lessons and laughter for all ages.


Cat in the Hat: David Salter
Jojo: Sam Stringer
Horton: Sebastian Cooper
Gertrude McFuzz: Amy Nagesh
Mayzie La Bird: Tegan Gully
Sour Kangaroo: Casmira Hambledon
The Wickersham Brothers:
Samuel James
Jacob Mitchell
Nathaniel Mason
Bird Girls:
Bek Hawke
Sash Elliott
Ava Cannard
Vlad Vladikoff: Amanda Sharp
Yertle the Turtle: Craig Ellis
Baby Roo: Sarah Neumann
Mr Mayor: Andrew Hawkins
Mrs Mayor: Sandy Wandel
Genghis Khan Schmitz: Trevor Anderson
The Grinch: Zachary Baseby
The Whos:
Amy Neumann
Emma Cannard
Sophie Brown
Megan Folland
Saphron Giannis
Brodie Baeker
Jungle Ensemble:
Georgina Lumb
Hannah Vandervlag
Children's Ensemble:
Emily Neumann
Paul Komninos
Imogen Russo
Billie Stelzer
Amber Tilley
Joshua Mason
Toby Mason
Samuel Cannizzaro

Photo Gallery